The scenario is the wedding shower for the daughter of a good friend.  There’s my friend talking with someone who looks familiar.   I’m introduced.  We think we know each other from somewhere and my friend suggests maybe it’s from the place the other woman works.  She says that I’ve had a pedicure there 2 or 3 times.

I say, “Well, actually it was only once.”

So Holy Spirit says to me, “Why did you say that?”

Well, says I, it’s important to have the facts straight.

“Oh, really”, He says.  “And why is that?”

Well, truth is important.

“Yes, truth is important.  However, factual accuracy is not always the highest Truth”, He says.   “Loving relationships trump factual accuracy any day.”

“In addition, the need to correct another for the sake of accuracy is most often rooted in pride; you’re paying attention.  You know what’s really going on.  You’ve got it right.”

“And the sin of pride is often justified by legalism (hear “factual accuracy) which interferes with meaningful relationships .”

Did He really say all that?

“Yes, I did.”

“AND, last, but certainly not least, you are setting yourself up against Me.  I AM the only One Who really knows what’s going on and what matters.  I’ll be sure to let you know if I need for you to set the record straight.  Don’t hold your breath.”

“While we’re at it, the real reason you felt the need to challenge the frequency of the pedicures was that you were feeling shame.  You didn’t want to appear to be vain.  Which you are.”

Yikes!  Did He really say That?

“Yes, I did.”

“By the way,  Pride is often a covering for Shame and frequently shows up as the need to be ‘right’.  We’ll keep working on that together.  And we can leave your problem with vanity for another blog.”

Wow, is that a relief!

“In the meantime, leave correction of other people to Me.”

Just now I’m feeling exposed and grateful all at the same time.  How DOES He do that?

Thank you, God.

“My pleasure, Annie.”

How amazingly wonderful (painful, too) to be in this process on the way to freedom.  I’ll try to keep my corrections confined to myself.